New Pencils

I finally was able to get hold of one of those extremely cool pencil I’ve other artists use. Actually it’s not that special, simply a blue pencil. But I got one of those mechanical pencils that have a blue lead. About two years ago I started experimenting a lot with differently manufactured pencils and I figured that this kind works the best for me.

So I got one and also adjusted my workflow – which means:

Instead of doing my sketches with a regular pencil and then having trouble erasing it after I went over it with my inks I just switched to doing a blue sketch, putting inks on it and deleting the blues digitally (thanks to good old Photoshop). I never dared doing that before because I thought working with the different colour channels seemed so hard but a friend gave me detailed instructions – it really wasn’t that hard.

I have been asked which pencils I usually use so I took a photograph of my essentials.

IMG_20151117_222355

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As you can see it’s nothing special. For the sketch I switch between the blue pencil and regular pencils (3H & HB) and for my lineart I either use Copic Multi Liners or Faber-Castell PITT inks.

I picked up the idea of drawing pretty ladies in beautiful dresses. Since my uni is hosting a “1900 in Paris”-Party I came up with the idea of going back in time, exploring the fashion back then. I started with the 1700 London look (with the blues because I think it’s pretty!).

Hakuna Matata!

london1700h

Leave a Reply

