UNI!?!?

For the last couple of days I have been trying to stay away from my computer and my pencils as much as possible so that my wrist can get a little break. Even though it hurts using my hand for more than 10 minutes it hurts much more not to be able to draw and doodle. Right now I have so many ideas stuck in my head and I fear that once I can pick up a pencil again all of them will be gone. Nevermind.

So, tomorrow is going to be a pretty cool day (or at least I hope so).

After finishing school I took a year “off” to work on my skills as an artists and to do some freelance work. During this time I was still working for/ with my current boss (I also will continue working there – just for you too know). But I was also preparing to get into uni.

For those of you who don’t know much about art/ design universities let me give you a few information on that topic.

I had to apply with two different portfolios (each 20-30 artworks), one was given a theme the other one I could design to my liking. There are unis who just demand one portfolio.

Then I had to survive an interview, which actually wasn’t that bad but the girl who had the interview a couple of minutes came out crying and sobbing.

All in all it took me 700 + hours to work on my portfolio. Luckily I got in because I don’t know if I had done another one for the next year.

So tomorrow is my first year at uni!

Around last October I was preparing for another Uni/ Academy which offered a Bachelor in “Illustration” which I thought would be the perfect match for me. So I went there to attend some … sneak-peek classes. I was pretty disappointed because a huge amount of the things they taught had already crossed my path in one or another way.

I though a lot about alternatives and settled for communications design. I really like the idea of learning how images work and how they influence the person looking at it. How does advertisement affect me, why does it have that effect, how can I create such effects for different things.

I’m aiming to be a professional comic book artist one day but it can’t be bad to understand how that kind of thing works, can it?

I’ll let you know what life has in store for me.

Cheers.

6 thoughts on “UNI!?!?

  1. Hey ! I love your style and amazing work on the illustrations and quite beautiful too , you did that with your left hand ??? WOW!! , I too had an accident recently on my left hand ( I’m right handed ) but use my left hand for the short cut keys while using Photoshop , My thumb splinter just came off two weeks back . . check out the comic strip in my art blog called ” cutter matter ” I started that while recovering . I hope your hand heals quickly and thanks for visiting my blog .

    1. Hei there! Thank you very much for your kind words! It really was a challenge, though. Thank you and I hope your finger will be fine soon, too! It looks painful!

Leave a Reply

