Colouring

Today I’ve been testing different coloring styles and techniques to see which one I like best and which one works fast. I’m about to finish the first stage of my work on my comic – just 4 pages to go! I like to divide it into 4 steps.

  1. Pencil artwork. Varies from rough sketches to detailed sketches – strongly depends on the difficulty of the image.
  2. Inking. I scan the sketches and ink them digitally. I most likely will do that with Manga Studio 5 as there are some really awesome brushes for inking.
  3. Colouring. It sounds easy but it really isn’t. It gets pretty hard once you have to colour more than one image because the colours have to work  with the entire page. You will see what I am talking about when I’ll upload some work in progress pictures.
  4.  Lettering. Adding speech bubbles, sound effects and doing the layout.

I have mentioned a couple of times that I’ll be posting some work in progress images soon. But when is SOON?!

Soon.

Just kidding.

I’m on holiday next week so I won’t be able to work on my comic. But once I’m back I will start inking the pages – and that’s when I’ll start showing more. Also I will give you some information on the story itself. The whole project is enormous as it has to be finished within the next 5 weeks.

It’s not going to be one of those classical “superhero” comics. It is fiction but it deals with issues that are much closer to real life.

Here’s a quick doodle I did to try some brushes.

 

pilz

2 thoughts on “Colouring

Leave a Reply

